"Open" signifies that anybody may view the group, who is a member of it, and what members publish. "Closed" indicates that anybody may see the group and who is in it, but only members can see the posts. The term "secret" denotes that only members may view the group, who is in it, and what members publish. A group can be any number of these states at once.
There is no need to request admittance because all of the information is available. Closed: You must request membership in the group and be authorized by the admin/s. Secret: This sort of group is not visible, and the only way to join it is by an invitation from the founder or another group member. Private: Only members can see what happens in the group.
Anyone with access to Facebook may see who is a member of public groups and what information is shared in such groups. Only members of private groups may see who is a member and what they have posted. Groups that were previously secret will now be private and hidden by default, whereas groups that were previously closed will now be private and visible. All private groups start out as public groups.
To make sure that only you can see which groups you are a part of, log out of Facebook. Log back in and click on the "See all" link next to your name at the top right corner of any page on Facebook. This will show all your groups including any private ones. Clicking on any group's name will take you to that group on Facebook.
Private groups are useful for creating spaces where only certain people can join; for example, you could create a private group on Facebook called "Stuff about my music project." You could add other people as members so they could post comments on your updates or discussions, but no one else would be able to find the group. Private groups cannot be seen by everyone on Facebook, only people who "like" the group's page can see it.
Public groups are much more open, anyone can join them. They're useful for discussing topics that might not be appropriate for a specific audience.
That is, only they can publish to the group and read other people's posts. The search visibility was what distinguished them. Previously, closed groups were visible in search, but secret groups were hidden. Because both are now private, the new hide group setting makes all the difference.
The name, description, and member list of a closed group are not "closed," but are open to the public. Closed groups may even appear in a public search. Only members can see posts in a closed group, unless they choose to make their messages public.
On Facebook, there are three categories of groups: public, closed, and secret. Public groups can be seen by anyone, while private groups only can be seen by members. Secret groups cannot be found by anyone except the group owner.
There are two ways to become a member of a group: join or subscribe. When you join a group, it will show up in your news feed as well as that of everyone else who is already a member. If you want to stop seeing updates from a group, you can unsubscribe at any time. Subscribing means that your own updates will no longer appear in your news feed, but you will still see updates from others in the group.
You can also send messages to all members of a group. These messages go through the same process as personal messages- they get sent one at a time to each person in the group. There is no limit to the number of people you can message with one request.
Finally, groups can post photos, videos, links, and other content. They can do this privately or publicly. Publicly posted items can be seen by anyone who visits the group's page, while private posts are only visible to members of the group.
No one may look for hidden groups or apply to join them. You can only get in if you know someone who can invite you. Everything discussed in a private group is only accessible to those who are a part of it. Therefore, searching for and joining private groups is not allowed.