To mention someone, use @ directly followed by their username (for example, "excellent photo, @shayne!"). There should be no space between @ and the username. When you mention someone, they will receive a notice in their activity stream. Mention you in a remark (for instance, "excellent photo, @shayne!"). Their friends will see that you have commented on their photo and will be able to click through to read your comment.
Mentioning is similar to tagging, but instead of showing up under photos people upload, mentioned users' posts will show up in your feed. To mention only certain users, you can either list them individually or use the @ symbol to signify all your social media accounts.
The term "follow" refers to an action that is taken on another user or page. When you follow someone, a notification will be sent to your email address or phone if you have provided one. You can unfollow someone by deleting your follow request. If you fail to do so within 24 hours, the default behavior is to continue following their updates until you take action.
The term "block" refers to preventing another user from seeing your updates or engaging with your content. When you block someone, no notifications will be sent to notify them about your actions (comments, likes, etc.) and they won't be able to access your account.
Users can block other users.
If you are unable to mention someone, it is possible that they have altered who may mention them in their privacy settings. You'll also find out if they don't accept mentions. If this is the case, simply send them a private message explaining why you're unable to mention them and one of our helpful staff members will help you out.
Instagram recently improved the tracking of story mentions for artists and corporate accounts. Any story that references you is now shown at the top of the Activity tab. Tap the heart icon, then mentions under Stories About You, to access Stories About You. Here you can see which stories have been shared using #YourStory.
When you tag someone in a snap, their handle will display in the image or video for all to see, no matter how large and bold or careless you make it. Anyone you tagged in the photo will receive a Snapchat notice reading, "[Your Name] mentioned you in their story!"
If you don't want everyone knowing about your moment, simply click the "viewer" button next to their name. This will hide that person's identity until you decide to reveal them by clicking the button again.
How long does it stay on Snapchat? Tags last for 24 hours, but stories are deleted after they're viewed 100 times. So if you take a picture of your lunch and tag three friends, those tags will disappear after 24 hours even if you send the photo to yourself as a private message.
Who can view my Snapchat? By default, only people you know can see your photos/videos. But if you'd like more people to be able to see your snaps, there are two ways to do this: first, ask your friends to add you as a friend; second, pay $0.15 per user per month to increase your audience.
Can I delete someone from my Snapchat list? Yes, go to your camera menu and click on "users". You will then be taken to your friends list where you can remove anyone.
How do I respond to someone in an Instagram comment thread?
Tagging someone in your profile tells Instagram that you're close enough to them to put them at the top of your likes list. If he or she has ever tagged you, it will be a rating factor as well. Of course, they can also like your posts without tagging themselves if they want to get your attention even more directly!
The person must currently be online to be placed in your list. If they log out or change their privacy settings, they go back down your list. However, they still show up in searches for users who are looking for people to tag along with on adventures.
Your friend will see an alert telling them that they've been tagged and that they have until midnight to respond. If they don't, then they'll be removed from your list.
Here are some examples of situations where someone might be added to your top list on Instagram: when you meet someone new, when you travel to a new place, when you do something exciting. You may not think much of it until later when you realize you had many comments and questions about what location you were at or how you managed to fit so much into your trip.
As long as you aren't following everyone who follows you, you shouldn't receive this notification more than once or twice a year.
When someone mentions you in their tale, your username appears in their narrative, and anybody who sees it may touch it to go to your profile. Only your approved followers can view your posts if your account is set to private. Stories in which you are referenced do not display on your profile or in tagged photographs. You can see yours by visiting your profile page: https://wwwr.wix.com/danielwallace/profile#!/.
Your name may also show up in articles if you have your privacy settings set properly. This occurs whenever an article is written about a topic on which you have commented or posted material. Your name will appear in the article with a link back to your profile page.
Finally, you may see your name in books if you have published anything that others have referred to in their writings. Your name will appear in the book with a link back to your profile page.
When you tag someone or a company on Instagram, they receive an alert and are immediately taken to your post. This means they'll be far more inclined to like or comment on your photo, increasing your engagement.