How to Determine Whether or Not Someone Has Read Your Direct Message Instagram gives instant feedback to let you know whether a message has been read (or at least seen) by its intended recipient. When the receiver has read your private (one-on-one) message, you will see "Seen" under it. Otherwise, it would show up in their feed as an unread message.
If someone tags you in a photo, they have viewed the image. If no one tags you, they have not viewed the image. Images can also be viewed directly from the mobile app by clicking on them. Use this method if you want to send a secret message to another user.
Users can also view photos that others have uploaded to their profile by going to their profile page and clicking on Photos. The first photo displayed is the most recent image posted to that user's account.
Photos can also be found by other users through Instagram Search. Simply type in any words that come to mind and see what results come up. For example, searching for "tree" returns many different images of trees, while searching for "sunset" returns many photos of sunsets.
Search results are sorted by date taken/posted.
Instagram gives instant feedback to let you know whether a message has been read (or at least seen) by its intended recipient. This operates in the same way as read receipts do in other messaging programs. If no one has seen your direct message, then there will be no icon next to it.
Here's how you read Instagram direct messages (DMs) without them knowing:
Select Messages (the green icon with a white text bubble inside it). When you read someone's message, they get alerted. If your recipient has read receipts enabled, you'll see "Read" beneath your message, along with the time it was read. If they have disabled read receipts, then you won't see this notification.
You may, however, use Instagram's new Restrict feature to view a friend's direct messages without triggering the "Seen" mark. "They won't be able to see when you're online or if you've seen their messages," Instagram explains. Users can activate this restriction for up to 20 users at a time. After activating the feature, users will no longer receive notifications that they have new messages waiting for them.
Scroll down to messages and look for the "read receipts" option. If your recipient has receipts enabled, the term "read" will display beneath your message, along with the time they viewed it. You can also send them a direct message asking if they have read your message.
You'll see the avatar of the person you're speaking with to the right of the most recent message they've seen in these messages. Read receipts notify the sender when a message is read by the recipient or when the recipient responds to a message from a notice. Users can also turn on read notifications for specific people or groups.
Read notifications work for Google Talk, Gmail, and Google+ users. They don't work for SMS messages or MMS images.
To send a read notification: Open Google Chat Click the menu icon Click Settings Click the Notifications tab Select the On/Off button for Send read notifications about conversations in this chat room Click OK
If you set your notification settings to On, then you will receive read notifications about messages that were sent to you in Google Chat. If you get a message, you won't need to open Google Chat to find out if you have new messages. The desktop app or mobile app will notify you.
Note: Your read notifications will only be sent to the first email address listed as a contact in Google Chat. If you want read notifications to go to a different address, you will need to add that address as a contact too.
Read notifications are useful if you want to make sure that you haven't missed anything important while being distracted by other things.