Without your consent, anybody may add you on Messenger. There are a few things you can do to prevent individuals from searching you up on Messenger or Facebook. However, if someone obtains your profile URL, he will have little trouble locating you. You can't avoid it because your profile is constantly visible. However, you can limit the number of people who have access to it.
The first thing you should know about adding people on Messenger is that it's free. The second thing is that you need to provide your phone number to do it. That's basically all there is to it.
When you give out your phone number, you're allowing other people to send messages and calls to it. It's important to note that even if you delete your account, the number is still available for reuse. So be careful before you hand over your number.
If you don't want anyone to find you on Messenger, then you should probably take out your phone number too. This way no one will be able to contact you using this method.
Messenger is used by many different types of people so if you don't want to be found, then you shouldn't use your real name when you sign up. Use an alias instead so nobody will be able to track you down.
Also remember that even if you hide yourself from Messenger, your profile page will still exist.
You might call it a people's directory, and it allows you to effortlessly discover individuals on Facebook without logging in. Thousands of new members are added to the social media behemoth on a regular basis. It is difficult to locate folks who do not have a Facebook account.
Your Facebook page should be much more difficult for individuals you don't want to find, and even if they do, they won't be able to add you unless they're already friends with one of your friends. However, if you want to keep your profile concealed from one individual in particular, you might be better off banning them.
When you are not connected to the internet, you can check Facebook without anybody knowing. When you enlarge the chat window, you'll get a list of all your Facebook connections who are now online. Select the "go offline" option from the settings menu. When you exit Chat, you will no longer be able to see who is online. However, they will still be able to see you and talk with you just like normal.
However, effective on December 26, 2019, you will be unable to join up for Messenger if you have never had a Facebook account. In other words, in order to use Messenger, you must either have a current Facebook account or have had a Facebook account in the past. There are two ways to have a former Facebook account: delete your account directly via an email sent to the address associated with it or keep it active but disable notifications. In this case, you will still be able to send and receive messages but you will not be notified when anyone posts anything to Facebook.
Furthermore, according to Facebook, "if you delete your account then all of your information, including any conversations that have taken place over Messenger, will be deleted too."
Finally, even if you had an active Facebook account but didn't use it for several months or years, you would also lose the ability to use Messenger. When you re-activate your account, you will be given the option to choose a new password and enable two-factor authentication. But unless you change these settings, anyone who logged into your account during its inactive period would be able to do so now.
So overall, messaging people on Facebook is no longer available if you have never had a Facebook account before or after deleting it completely.