Even if your friends aren't accessible to chat, you can send them a message that they can read later. Chat messages can also be seen using the Messages (email) box. Start typing their name in the search box at the bottom of the list to communicate with a friend who isn't included in the new sidebar. 2. Disable your chat availability completely: If you don't want others to know when you're online and how to reach you, then make sure that your profile is set to private. Only those you give permission to will be able to see it.
When chat is turned off, the contacts list is grayed out and a "Turn On Chat" link appears, allowing you to reactivate the instant messaging capabilities.
Your buddies may send you a chat message at any moment while you're browsing. However, Facebook has implemented many chat filters that allow you to hide your online status from your friends if you so want. You have the option of blocking a subset of your friends or all of your friends at once. There are two ways to do this: one is through the Facebook interface and the other is via an API call.
To check which buddies are online in chat, do the following:
When you are not connected to the internet, you can check Facebook without anybody knowing. When you enlarge the chat window, you'll get a list of all your Facebook connections who are now online. Select the "go offline" option from the settings menu. When you exit Chat, you will no longer be able to see who is online. However, they will still be able to see you and talk with you just like normal.
Select "Who may view your friends list" in the "How People Can Find and Contact You" section. Simply click on it. Select who you want to see on your friends list from the drop-down menu. Choose one of the following options: Custom: You may choose who can and cannot view your pals list. All Friends: Allow anyone on your friends list to view your list.
You can message someone on Facebook even if they aren't a friend (if their privacy settings allow it). This is especially useful when you come across someone on Facebook with whom you'd like to communicate but aren't sure if you want to add her as a friend. Here are a couple such examples: someone may have posted an article on Facebook that you're interested in, or maybe they went to school with your cousin and haven't seen him in a while.
In order to message them, first log into Facebook using your account. Then click the arrow next to your name at the top right corner of the screen, then click "Message Someone". Fill out the form and submit it. The other person will receive your message within 24 hours.
Facebook messages work best if you write a short message rather than a long essay. Also, unlike email messages, Facebook messages do not go through our regular moderation process so there may be a delay before you hear back from someone.
Messaging another user allows you to send photos, links, and videos. It also lets you know when they've read your message and how they are feeling (which words appear under their status update). Users can choose what information they share about themselves when they sign up for a Facebook account; some people may only want you to see their birth date while others might let you know if they have a health issue that requires medical attention. However, users cannot delete their messages once they've been sent.
When you utilize Facebook's chat tool, everyone of your friends may see that you're online and ready to speak. If you don't want to be caught up in a chat, especially if you're not meant to be on Facebook at the moment, you can use a stealth mode. This will prevent anyone from popping up in a chat room with you.
To put yourself in stealth mode, simply type /me into a private message window. You'll then be able to talk in private with your friends without being detected by others.
If you'd like to take yourself out of stealth mode, just type /unstealth into a private message window. Or you can send someone else a private message instead if you want them to go undercover for you.
Facebook chats are stored in the Messenger history so if you have trouble remembering what was said in a conversation, this is where you'll find it. To clear all the conversations from your history, click on the "Activity" icon in the top-right corner of any Facebook page.
Your friend list is displayed in order of most recent activity. So if you don't want someone to know that you've been talking with another person, just don't say anything too interesting or they might catch you out of stealth mode!
It's also possible to block people on Facebook.