When you block someone on Facebook, they are instantly unfriended. They can't add you as a friend, invite you to events or groups, look at your timeline, or do anything else. When you unblock them, you are no longer Facebook friends. As a result, you must resubmit friend requests at this time. This can be embarrassing at times. You might want to keep this behavior to yourself though.
The Facebook Support Team If you block someone, they will not be unblocked until you do. When you unblock someone, you are not instantaneously re-friended. If you block and then unblock a buddy, you must send them a new friend request. They may or may not accept it at that point.
When you unblock someone, that person will be able to read your publicly shared Facebook postings. The individual will not instantly become a Facebook friend of yours. If you wish to be friends with someone you've unblocked, you must send them a friend request. They will then be able to accept or reject your invitation.
How long must you wait before unblocking someone on Facebook? If you block and then unblock someone, you must wait 48 hours before you may friend them again. If you delete someone from your list of friends, they disappear completely from the site. However, if they have added you as a friend or follower, then you will be able to see their updates until they remove you as a friend.
In general, it takes about 24 hours for blocked users to appear undeleted on Facebook. During major events or other high-traffic periods, this could take longer.
Users can also report blocks via the "Block" link found under each user's profile page. Users will need to provide evidence of who they are blocking in order for that person to be removed from the blocklist.
There is no set time frame for people to explain themselves before being restored to your feed. But usually when this happens there has been some sort of error made by the blocker that we can resolve together with the accused party.
Restoration after an incident such as this depends on how serious it was. If the violation wasn't that big of an issue, then likely you won't hear back from the offender.
Blocking a contact is not the same as unfriending them. Even if you merely delete a friend, this individual may still discover you via the search box and view any public articles or images you have. If you've blocked someone and then decide to unblock them, this will immediately send a friend request to the individual. You can also use the Block feature in conjunction with other actions such as deleting an article or commenting on an event.
In addition to blocking individuals on Facebook, you can also report their comments or posts as spam. Users who comment or post spam will receive the warning "This user's content was reported as spam," followed by additional instructions on how to resolve the issue. Spam reports are free for your account but do require that you open up the Settings menu to accept them. There, you'll find a wide range of options for controlling what information you share about yourself and which people can access.
Finally, you can also use the Settings menu to change your privacy settings in general. Here, you can determine who has access to your account, post updates, etc. This screen also provides more information on how Facebook uses data from its users.
Blocking and reporting users is an important part of maintaining a safe environment on Facebook. Without these tools, it would be easy for people to abuse the site by posting inappropriate content or harassing others.
When you unfriend a Facebook friend, they will not be alerted, but you will be removed from their buddy list. Unfriending or blocking someone terminates all communication, however unfollowing is a less permanent approach than either unfriending or banning. More stories may be found in Business Insider's Tech Reference Library.
How to Block or Unfriend Someone on Facebook
If you unblock someone on Facebook, the person you unblocked will not receive a notice. And after you've unblocked them, you can't re-blocked them. This means that if they try to connect with Facebook and don't see you there, they'll never know why you blocked them.