Do you have to delete someone from Facebook?

Do you have to delete someone from Facebook?

You don't have to delete someone from your life just because you delete them from Facebook. This is only for your online life. Many people believe that if they don't stop and say hello to someone they know on Facebook, that person is a prime candidate for deletion. I'd like to suggest the polar opposite for consideration. If you see someone every day at work or in town that you'd like to keep in your life even after you remove them from Facebook, then by all means, let 'em stay.

The most common reason for deleting someone is if they're inapropiate for you or your friends to see. For example, if you're a parent and you find out that someone you know has a child younger than 13, you should delete them from your list. Even if you think it's fine for someone else to see their kid's photo, you shouldn't be looking at this stuff. Privacy settings can be changed at any time, so be careful who sees what.

Another reason for deletion may be if they're harassing or threatening you or others. If this happens, contact Facebook directly and they'll take care of it.

Yet another reason might be if you simply no longer want them in your life. Maybe they were a good friend once, but now you've moved on. You can delete them at any time. It's up to you.

Finally, some people will delete others just because they feel like it.

Why do I want to delete someone's Facebook account?

There are several reasons why you would want to permanently deactivate someone's Facebook account. Because we're using the phrase "someone's," we may infer you don't wish to permanently erase and deactivate your own Facebook account. The individual is a deceased family or acquaintance. Revenge for wrongs done in past lives. There are any number of reasons why someone might want to delete their Facebook account, some of which may be serious violations of Facebook policy. In this case, when you report them they will be notified and given the opportunity to explain themselves before their account is deleted.

You can also request to delete an account that you no longer use. In order to do this, log into your account and click on the "help" link next to the username at the top of your screen. From here you can delete your account by selecting the "delete my account" option. A helpful message will appear explaining what will happen to all of your information if you decide to delete your account in this way.

Finally, you can ask to have your account temporarily disabled. This prevents others from viewing your content or interacting with your existing connections but allows you time to change your mind about deleting your account. Your friend or contacts can still see that you want your account disabled not only via a notification email but also via a warning label attached to your profile picture. When you no longer want your account to be visible, you can go back and enable it again.

About Article Author

Lauren Studer

Lauren Studer is a lifestyle writer who loves to share advice for women. She enjoys cooking new recipes, learning about social media trends, and have her work and personal life well balanced.

Related posts