Most jurisdictions allow people under the age of 18 to have tattoos with the approval of a parent or guardian, however some states prohibit tattooing at any age, with the exception of medical necessity (such as markings placed for radiation therapy). The legality of tattooing children has been the subject of controversy throughout history. Legal restrictions vary by state and country.
In California, the minimum age to get a tattoo is 18, unless you are getting it as part of a religious ceremony where they may not ask your age. In that case, the religious leader can decide what age he or she wants people to get tattooed so long as it isn't under 18. People under the age of 18 are not allowed to work in a tattoo shop without a supervisor present.
The California State Board of Education recently released a statement saying that tattooing is considered a trade and as such requires a license. They also said that because of this classification, shops cannot ask applicants how old they are when they apply for a job. If they do, then the employer is violating the law by discriminating based on age.
Employers can ask your age for other reasons, such as whether you're qualified to do work that requires a license.
Technically, there is no limit on how young a person may be while getting a tattoo. Tattoos on children are permitted in 38 states with informed parental agreement or in the presence of the parent. Most tattoo artists will not tattoo anyone under the age of 15 or 16 for safety and liability reasons. The younger a person is, the more likely it is that they won't grow out of their rebellious stage and want something permanent.
In most cases, you can get a tattoo with your parent's permission, but only if you're an adult. Even if you think it would be okay because you're married or have a relationship like a sibling, it isn't acceptable according to law. Getting a tattoo when you're a child may lead to trouble later when you become a responsible adult and need identification documents like a driver's license or passport. If you decide to go through with this action, make sure you discuss it with your parents first so there are no misunderstandings.
In some cases, where there is abuse involved, then the tattoo artist may refuse to work with that particular family member again. It is important to remember that consenting adults can do what they want to do with their bodies as long as it doesn't harm another person.
At the time, I was 18 years old. However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have laws requiring tattoo recipients to be at least 18 years old. This is founded in part on the legal notion that a minor cannot engage into a formal contract or grant informed permission for a procedure. The law in some states allows people under 21 to get tattoos if they receive parental consent or a doctor's note allowing them to get one without being charged with a crime.
In Maryland, there is no minimum age to get a tattoo. However, the Maryland Criminal Code states that anyone who wants to get a tattoo must obtain written permission from an adult (age 19 or older) who has legal authority over him or her. The Attorney General's Office says that this rule protects adults from having their rights violated by minors getting tattoos without their knowledge or consent. It also helps prevent juveniles with criminal records for tattooing offenses by making it harder for them to get tattoos.
In Washington state, people under 21 need parent or guardian consent to get tattoos. If someone under 21 gets convicted of a felony offense involving violence or threat of violence, they can't get any more tattoos until they're released from prison. They can still get existing tattoos removed.
In Missouri, people under 18 need parent or guardian consent to get tattoos. Parents can give consent for themselves or another family member to get a tattoo.
People who want to acquire a tattoo must be at least 18 years old. If you are between the ages of 16 and 17, you must receive written permission from your parent or guardian. The person giving you permission must sign the form. Tattoos are considered body art and are protected by law in most countries including Canada.
If you have formal parental or guardian approval, states such as Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New Jersey, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, and West Virginia will enable you to acquire a tattoo as a child.
In order to legally obtain a tattoo in California, a person must be at least 18 years old. In reality, it is a criminal under Penal Code 653 PC to "ink" or apply a tattoo to a kid under the age of 18.