Although we do not allow you to temporarily delete your account, you may change your public profile to restrict what information others see when they use search engines such as Google, Yahoo!, Bing, and others.
Even if you delete your Google profile, recruiters may still discover you on the platform. Follow the procedures below to delete your public profile from search engines. When you disable this privacy setting, you should receive the confirmation window shown below. Search engines will no longer be able to crawl your profile at this point.
> Select your profile image > Navigate to your profile > Settings > Visibility > Make changes to your public profile. Toggle your profile's public visibility to Off from the Edit Visibility section. When you turn off your public profile, no one will be able to see it including employers who may search for you online.
You may either conceal your profile from certain individuals or make it to be invisible to everyone except friends and friends of friends, depending on your preferences. If you simply want to conceal your profile when you're signed out, you may do so by cancelling your account. Your contacts will still be able to reach out to you if they have questions or need help, but they'll be unable to see your profile.
If you want to block someone completely, you can do so by adding them to your hidden list. You will still receive notifications from them (such as messages), but they won't be able to see your profile unless you remove them from this list.
Hiding or cancelling your Facebook account will not affect any relationships you might have with people on the platform. They will still be able to contact you via email or phone number that you provided when you first signed up. However, anyone who has access to your computer will be able to view your profile page.
Your Facebook profile is only visible to those who you give permission to see it. So if you don't want anyone to see your profile, don't share your password or login information with others.
If you don't want others to be able to locate you (your profile, posts, content, or personal information) on search engines, you may make yourself virtually invisible with a few clicks. If you're ready to investigate your security choices and settings, you have complete control over what occurs with your Facebook page.
The first thing you should know is that making yourself virtually invisible only applies to the web-based version of Facebook. It has no effect on the mobile apps, which are separate products with their own privacy settings. Also, because all profiles have a default privacy setting of visible, anyone can find you online even if you've made your profile private.
However, you can change this setting for individual items such as posts, photos, and events. You can also control how much information people are allowed to see when they click through from a link on another site or application. Finally, you can choose specific friends or groups who can access your profile if you wish. For example, one friend could view your public information but not post anything on your wall. Another friend in the same group would still be able to message her without being permitted to see your private information.
These are some of the many ways you can control the visibility of your Facebook profile. As you can see, there are many options available for those who want to keep their identity secret while still being able to engage with others on Facebook.
Select "Friends of Friends" or "Friends" from the drop-down box to limit who may see your Facebook page. This prevents your profile from appearing in public searches on Facebook or on search engines such as Google. However, people who know you well may still be able to find you through other means.