Choose Settings & Privacy from the dropdown menu. On the left rail, choose Visibility. Change the visibility of your LinkedIn activity area by clicking the Change button next to Followers. This option also allows you to share your content outside of LinkedIn.
Control Who Can See Your Updates.
At the top of your LinkedIn homepage, click the "Me" symbol. Everyone on LinkedIn: Your changes are viewable by all LinkedIn members. To disable this feature, click Manage Visibility.
Using LinkedIn's built-in privacy settings, you may make your public profile "hidden," or available just to connections. Other settings on your LinkedIn account can also be changed to keep any LinkedIn activity secret. For example, if you have a job opening and you don't want it to go public until you've had a chance to interview candidates, that information could be kept private by making the corresponding profile field hidden.
There are two ways to make your public profile hidden: change your settings directly on the LinkedIn site or through the API. If you choose to make your profile invisible only to connections, then others will need to request access to see it.
To make your public profile hidden:
Go to your LinkedIn profile page. Click on the small arrow next to your name in the top right corner of the screen. This will open up your Settings menu. Click on Privacy Settings. Here you can select the options Visible to Friends & Family or Only Connections. Make sure the latter is selected and click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.
You can also do this through the API. See our API documentation for more information.
Make your public profile private. "View profile" should be selected. Click "Edit public profile and URL" on the right rail. Toggle your profile's public visibility to Off in the Edit Visibility area on the right rail. Your profile is now hidden to everyone except you.
The Activity part of the profile page allows you to browse your postings as well as the posts, articles, and profile activity of other LinkedIn members. If you don't notice any activity in a person's profile's activity area, the member may have changed their settings to private, or they may not have had any recent activity.
Only your connections can view your activity on LinkedIn.
Your employer or client cannot view your activity. However, if you select the See all activity link, then even your employers will be able to see what you have been doing on LinkedIn.
Individuals who have blocked you on LinkedIn can still see what you have posted, but they won't be able to find you. You should take precautions to prevent your activities from being seen by people you don't want to contact anymore.
If you want others to only see your active profile, not your entire profile, you can do this by selecting the Show only my active profile check box. This makes it so that only your latest activity is displayed. If you want to display all of your information, include past jobs, then you will need to uncheck the box.
Finally, if you want only selected groups to see your activity, go into your Settings tab and click on the Groups button. Here, you can choose which groups get notified when you post something new.
To conceal your public profile, follow these steps:
You can browse as a "Anonymous LinkedIn Member" or pick your private profile attributes, which may display as "Someone on LinkedIn" or something more particular. After you choose this anonymity option, LinkedIn will hide the names of anyone who visit your profile from you. So yes, you can search for people on LinkedIn without them knowing.