Can a 16-year old get a tattoo in New Hampshire?

Can a 16-year old get a tattoo in New Hampshire?

Tattooing and branding of minors under the age of 18 is illegal in New Hampshire. There are no exclusions indicated for children with parental approval. A youngster with parental permission can get a body piercing. Tattoos, however, are not permitted until the age of 18. If you are considering getting a tattoo, we recommend that you wait until after your 18th birthday.

In addition to being illegal to tattoo or brand a minor, those who perform such acts without first receiving any kind of certification may be subject to prosecution.

Some states allow minors to consent to medical procedures; others do not. The law in New Hampshire appears to be clear on this issue: minors cannot consent to medical procedures without a parent or guardian present. This means that if you want to get a tattoo removed later from someone other than a doctor, for example, you will need permission from a parent or guardian. The same rule applies if you need to have some form of surgery or receive other types of treatment.

It is an offense in New Hampshire to tattoo or brand a minor without their parents' consent. Those who violate this law may be subject to criminal charges. For more information about what tattoos are allowed in New Hampshire and which ones are not, read our article on the topic here.

How old do I have to be to get a tattoo in NH?

18

New HampshireProhibits branding and tattooing a person under age 18 (N.H. Rev. Stat. ยง 314-A:8)
Penalties: Any or all of the following: (1) license revocation or suspension, (2) administrative fine up to $2,000, or (3) guilty of criminal violation for first offense and misdemeanor for any subsequent offense

Can you get a piercing at 16 in Minnesota?

Minors' tattooing and body piercing Minor Tattooing: It is illegal for anybody under the age of 18 to get a tattoo without notarized parental approval. Minnesota Piercing of a Minor: It is illegal to pierce anybody under the age of 18 unless they have witnessed written parental authorization. The parent or guardian must sign a form authorizing the procedure.

The only exception is if the minor is a health care worker and needs the piercing for job purposes. In this case, they do not need parental consent. However, health care workers are required by law to notify their employer within 30 days if they wish to retain their job after having their piercings done. If they do not, then they can be terminated from employment.

In addition, tattoos and body piercings are considered "body modifications" under Minnesota law. This means that people who seek out tattoos or piercing often use these procedures as a way to experiment with their identity or follow fads. For example, a person might get a tattoo of a symbol from a band they like so they can look more like them. Or maybe they want to wear jewelry on all their fingers but are afraid because it looks scary. In any case, minors cannot consent to these modifications nor can they buy products used in tattooing or piercing. They can only receive these services from adults who are not younger than 18 years old.

How young is too young to get a tattoo?

That rule was altered in January 2012; previously, tattooing under the age of 16 was permitted as long as the minor got parental approval. Most states allow tattoos and body piercings for minors under the age of majority, which in most of the United States is 18 years old, with parental agreement. Some states may have lower ages for consent.

In general, people between the ages of 14 and 17 are considered adults in the eyes of the law, so they can decide for themselves whether to get tattoos. However, some states may have lower ages for consent. If you're under 18, talk with your parents about getting a tattoo. They might not like the idea of you getting one, but they should be able to agree on some terms (such as no racist or sexist images).

If you are a parent and want to limit what your child gets tattooed, ask yourself these questions: Is it in honor of someone else? Would I be proud to see my son/daughter wearing this image? Would other people respect my child's decision not to get rid of this image?

The answers to these questions will help you determine how old your child is allowed to become before they can get a tattoo.

About Article Author

Joyce Zender

Joyce Zender is a lifestyle writer who loves to share advice for women. She's been published in The New York Times, Marie Claire, The Huffington Post and many other top publications around the world. Her goal is to create content that shows people that they can be themselves, while still living an incredible life!

Disclaimer

MariaCartagena.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts